South Yorkshire’s businesses celebrate success

More than 500 representatives from South Yorkshire’s Business Community came together to celebrate the achievements of local businesses over the past twelve months at one of the most prestigious business events on the local calendar.

Taking place at Magna and hosted by TV and Radio Broadcaster Stephanie Hirst, Barnsley and Rotherham Business Awards, sponsored by University Centre Rotherham, recognised the special achievements of local companies, charities and individuals for the outstanding contribution they have made.

The highly coveted title of ‘Business of the Year’ was presented to Barnsley-based LNS Turbo UK by sponsor Gibson Booth Business Solutions & Insolvency, whilst Sheffield-based Molly’s Fund was awarded the title of Chamber Charity of the Year and received £3,000 cash donation from Fortem.

Special recognition was also given to Julie Kenny CBE DL who was presented with the lifetime achievement award, whilst David Thackrah of IVS Materials Handling was awarded the Business Person of the Year.

The awards also recognised young individuals who are taking the first steps in their career and Katie Andrew of Liberty Speciality Steels won the Apprentice of the Year Award, with Armands Velavs of Code Green and Bryn Roberts of NPS Barnsley receiving highly commended.

Chief Executive of the Chamber, Andrew Denniff said:

“This year’s awards has seen a record number of entries, culminating in a sell out event which proved to be a memorable evening which celebrated the achievements of businesses of all shapes and sizes based in the region.

“I would like to congratulate the winners on the evening, especially our newly crowned business of the year LNS Turbo. The success of the event illustrates some of the truly amazing work which is being undertaken in our region, from the new and promising companies who have a bright future ahead of them to established companies who are celebrating milestone anniversaries”.

The winners on the night in full:

Brook Corporate Developments Most Promising New Business Award
Winner – Wentworth Woodhouse Preservation Trust
Highly Commended – CSP Systems Ltd
Highly Commended – Knowledge Bank

SheelPhalt Harsco Business Community Impact Award
Winner – De Hood CIC
Highly Commended – Rejus Limited
Highly Commended – XPO Logistics

Russell Richardson Environmental Commitment Award
Winner – MGB Plastics
Highly Commended – Bizspace (Ltd.) Rotherham
Highly Commended – Free Running Buildings Ltd

Enzygo Apprentice of the Year Award
Winner – Katie Andrews – Liberty Speciality Steels
Highly Commended – Armands Velavs – Code Green
Highly Commended – Bryn Roberts – NPS Barnsley

The Cloud Co. Marketing Campaign of the Year Award
Winner – 0114 Marketing
Highly Commended – Hallam FM’s Cash for Kids
Highly Commended – Pyronix Limited

Chamber Skills Solutions Skills Development Award
Winner – MED-EL UK Ltd
Highly Commended – Impelling Solutions Ltd
Highly Commended – XPO Logistics

Finance For Enterprise Business Growth Award
Winner – Enzygo Limited
Highly Commended – Azzure IT
Highly Commended – IVS Materials Handling

National Fluid Power Centre Innovation in Manufacturing Award
Winner – LNS Turbo UK Ltd
Highly Commended – CEAG Limited
Highly Commended – MGS Plastics

Pyronix HikVision Excellence in Customer Service Award
Winner – IT Desk (UK) Ltd
Highly Commended – Brook Corporate Developments
Highly Commended – DEB Chartered Accountants

Rotherham Together Partnership Hospitality, Leisure and Tourism Award
Winner – Grimm & Co
Highly Commended – MAGNA
Highly Commended – TWESH – The Weddings Event Supplier Hub

Shorts Business Person of the Year Award
Winner – David Thackrah – IVS Materials Handling
Highly Commended – Andy Adams – T3 Training & Development
Highly Commended – Ian Faulkner – Code Green

Chamber’s Charity of the Year Award – In association with Fortem
Winner – Molly’s Fund
Highly Commended – Grimm & Co
Highly Commended – Royal British Legion

Salute to business:
15 years: Jeremy Neal Independent Funeral Directors
30 years: Morthyng Group Limited
40 years: Russell Richardson & Sons
50 years: Derek Hattersley & Son Printers

Related Posts